Before you sit in their office, sit in on an interview with us as we ask Cleveland Foot & Ankle Clinic physicians all the important questions!

Meet Rachel Johnson, DPM, RN

Associate Professor, Department of Podiatric Medicine, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine

Rachel E. Johnson, DPM
Rachel E. Johnson, DPM

Degrees & Training: Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine

Special Interests: Wound care, Diabetic preventive foot care

Qualifications: Podiatric Medical & Surgical Residency, University Hospitals-Richmond Medical Center ; Wound Care & Infectious Disease Podiatric Fellowship, University Hospitals-Richmond Medical Center

Q: What's your favorite procedure to perform?

  • A: Anything with an arthroscope... ankle arthroscopy, endoscopic gastrocnemius recessions, etc.

Q: What's it like being a podiatrist in a global pandemic?

  • A: Complicated and busy!! Patients still need to be seen and precautions need to be taken!

Q: What shows are you hooked on right now?

  • A: Totally waiting for the next season of Cobra Kai!!

Q: Tell us about your free time!

  • A: What free time!! 2 kids and a new puppy so that is my free time :) and occasionally I sneak in reading a book!

Q: Any hidden talents?

  • A: I wish! I do like to try new cooking recipes when I get the chance!

Q: What's one thing you can't resist?

  • A: Panera cranberry orange muffins!

Q: What's something you can't live without?

  • A: They are a package deal - my husband and children.

Q: What was your very first job?

  • A: A waitress and I was terrible at it! I knew I had to have another goal in life!

Q: If you weren't a podiatrist, what would you be?

  • A: Well I have been an RN before podiatry but if I had a next career maybe a Librarian or I could go back to my childhood dream of being Indiana Jones! I used to love archeology!

Q: What's your favorite place to be?

  • A: A beach somewhere!

Q: We finish this interview and you step outside to find a lottery ticket that ends up winning $10 million. What do you do?

  • A: Pay off my student loans!! Then in no particular order: Tell my husband to stop worrying, we can remodel the kitchen and bathroom now ; start or work with a non-profit to do a foot health / shoe fitting and dispensing of shoes to underprivileged kids (I believe a good foundation in education can open so many doors for children in the future) and have an aftercare/ beforecare service for working parents of the children. I have volunteered for a program with aspects of this through our church service day and I think it's so meaningful. It takes the stress off parents.

Q: If you could choose a superpower, what would it be?

  • A: Hmmm tough one! Maybe flying or strength or maybe I can just pick Superman's powers?

Q: Favorite book?

  • A: Super tough as it depends on my reading mood/genre but let's go with Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.

Q: Who is your role model and why?

  • A: My mom. She is resilient, tough, positive, and loves us no matter what but can tell us when we may need to rethink something.

Q: If you could live anywhere, where would you choose?

  • A: I would choose a house right on the beach or maybe a lakehouse.

Q: How do you relax?

  • A: Who has time to relax!! I like to read or go out for a walk when I get time!

Q: What motivates you to work hard?

  • A: I think it's just ingrained from when I was young. I know my family, students, and patients depend on me to give them my best.

Q: How do you take your coffee?

  • A: No coffee here! Being from WV - sweet tea is my caffeine fix!

Q: Any fun quarantine purchases?

  • A: We recently got a new puppy to add to the chaos!

Q: What's your morning routine look like on a typical weekday?

  • A: Organized chaos!! Between 2 kids getting ready for school, a puppy that needs out, and always a missing backpack, homework, or a shoe to find...

Connect With Us